Don’t bring your bike they said; it’s going to rain all week they said

Image

Each year it’s the same deal for us Calgarians and with winter in full effect I was itching to ride.  My mom and her boyfriend have the right idea…they spend the winter down in Phoenix, Arizona and each year I have the pleasure of spending some time down in the sun.  The past couple years I’ve been kicking myself for not bringing my bike down; this year things were going to be different.  After speaking with my mom the day before I left things were looking grim with rain in the forecast everyday I was supposed to be there.  I decided to go ahead with my plans as I would have been way more dissapointed if I didn’t have my bike and the weather held off than to have it just in case.  I picked up a disposable camera to document what I hoped would be a good trip.

Image

Everything boxed up and ready to hit the trails.

Image

Welcome to America

Image

Ready to go

Image

White Tank Mountain park was on the menu for the first day.  Only a short drive from the condo it proved to be a good place to get the legs warmed up.

Image

White Tank is quite flat with a few dips and valleys along the trail.  With a few loops to choose from I checked out a couple but was feeling I wasn’t really able to ride my bike how I was wanting to.

Image

From the trail I spotted what I thought was a line way up in the hills.  After hiking to the bottom I realized it was nothing other than a run-off channel but decided to try hiking up anyways.  I found myself on top of a loose rocky slope with loose boulders ranging from fist size to beach balls.

Image

Double flat at the bottom….

Image

The Following day after some searching the internet I came across the South Mountain Trail system.  The original plan was a lazy one with the hope of being shuttled but this didn’t pan out.  On the last Sunday of every month, the day I was there, the park shuts the road down to eliminate the noise of vehicles in the park.  I had to put my saddle up and make for the top and about fourty five minutes later was greeted with an amazing view.

Image

The first trail I rode was a fast descent down a ridge into the valley below.  A few steep and loose sections were along the way and this trail proved to be exactly the kind of ride I was hoping to find.

Image

This is a shot from the second ascent I did.  In this section I found the upper half to be high speed single track and the lower was some classic free ride, as seen below, with sharp loose rock and a tonne of line choices.

Image

 Pick a line….

Image

 At the very bottom I found this rock roll that was worth a couple trips up

Image

 My precious

Image

 Wide bars tall cacti

Image

This trip proved to be a great chance to explore a new region I’ve never had my bike before.  Knowing what I do now will only make my next trip that much better.  Although I didn’t experience much of a mountain riding community I met a couple friendly people along the way who were able to share a couple things with me that helped me along the way.  Next year the plan is to hopefully get in a couple more riding days and to put a bit more time into researching the areas near by.  The weather has been holding up since I’ve been back so my bike is back together and I have been lucky to already have a snowy ride in the books.

Image

Leave a Reply

